Sutton Primary School has served the community since
1902, as a result of both the rapid development of new
houses built on either side of Wokingham Road and the
Education Act of 1895 which made schooling free for all
children. The school opened as Wokingham Road School
with just over a hundred children attending on the first
school was built with some financial help from the
Sutton family, of Sutton Seeds fame and in 1920 the
school was renamed Alfred Sutton County School.
Then as now, the school was very popular and pressure
for places was acute. By the mid 1920s, there were 528
children in attendance, which meant there were about 50
to a class!
the 1960s and 1970s, the cultural life was broadened by
the arrival of families from South Asia and the
Caribbean, and the expansion of the nearby University of
Reading brought visiting academics and their families to
the area from many parts of the world. As a result the
school developed the vibrant multiculturalism praised in
recent reports following inspection of the school by the
Office for Standards in Education (Ofsted) .